The time has come when you wanted to leave or take a break from tinder and you would want to delete your Tinder profile. Unfortunately, deleting the app itself will not delete your account.
Deleting the app does not delete your account
Unlike other apps where once you have deleted the app, your account gets deleted automatically, Tinder will not let you do that easily. Yes, deleting your app will not delete your Tinder account. Your profile will still be active, your pictures, messages and matches will remain. If you wish to go back to swiping, all you have to do is download the app again and you will be back to where you left off.
If you wish to leave permanently and do not want to cause any problems especially when you are dating or happily married already, do not worry as you could permanently delete your account by:
- Open the app
- Tap on your profile icon found on the top left corner of the screen
- Select Settings
- Scroll down until you reach the end, you will see Delete account
- Select delete account
- In this portion, you will be given another option, to deactivate your account. If you would want to permanently delete your account, tap Delete my account again.
- Tinder will ask the reason why you would like to leave before they permanent delete your account. They will also ask you if you would want to delete or just hide your account.
- Choose delete
The steps above will successfully delete your account. Take note that this will not cancel your Tinder Plus subscription. Hence, you will have to visit App Store or Google Play Store to do this.
Why should you delete Tinder?
There are chances that some users might steal your personal information and photos to create fake accounts. This could lead to scamming such as asking others to wire them money, buy them gifts, etc. Worse they could convince you to send them stuff as well or they could also link some malware. They could also use this to blackmail you.
Some hackers use Tinder for phishing. They could get your contact information and email you to confirm your account details and send you a link which allows them to verify your payment details and use it on other things.
3. Tinder Bots
Similar to catfishing, hackers could use fake profiles to set up Tinder bots. These bots could trick multiple people all at once. These bots will lure you into clicking links, ask you for provocative photos, wire them some money. The good thing about this is if you stop messaging, sometimes they will eventually stop.
Other social media platforms
Cyberstalking is another privacy concern and we highly recommend that you review your other social media accounts. You could adjust your settings or even delete them completely. We hope that through this article, we were able to help you learn how to permanently delete your Tinder account.